LaCinetek LogoLaCinetekShow menu

The Last Picture Show

The Last Picture Show
by Peter Bogdanovich1h581971United States
The Last Picture Show

The film"s page

Released in 1971 to critical acclaim and public controversy, The Last Picture Show garnered eight Academy Award nominations and was hailed as the most important work by a young American director since Citizen Kane.A surprisingly frank, bittersweet drama of social and sexual mores in small-town Texas, the film features a talent-laden cast led by Jeff Bridges (The Mirror Has Two Faces), Cybill Sheperd (TV's "Cybill") and Timothy Bottoms (The Man in the Iron Mask). Cloris Leachman (TV's "The Mary Tyler Moore Show") and Ben Johnson (Rio Grande each won Oscars for their work in supporting roles.

Cast and crew
  • Credits

    • Production Compagny : Colombia Pictures
    • Distributor : Sony Pictures
    • Producer : Bob Rafelson, Bert Schneider, Stephen J. Friedman
    • Editing : Donn Cambern, Peter Bogdanovich
    • Photo Director : Robert Surtees
    • Director : Peter Bogdanovich
    • Scenario : Peter Bogdanovich, Larry McMurtry
    • Original Work Author : Larry McMurtry
    • Set Decoration : Walter Scott Herndon
    • Costume Design : Polly Platt
    • Sound Recorder : James M. Falkinburg
  • Technical details

    • Printed format : 35 mm
    • Sound mix : Stéréo 2.0
    • Year of production : 1971
    • French release date : 14 avril 1972
    • Category : Feature film
    • Color : Black and White
    • Language : English

Other films