The Terence Davies Trilogy

by Terence Davies1h411983United Kingdom
The Terence Davies Trilogy

The film"s page

Davies' film is divided into three segments entitled "Children", "Madonna and Child", and "Death and Transfiguartion". The segments tell the life of Robert Tucker. The first segment looks at his birth and formative years in school, an austere boy's school. The bleak environment is not aided by the loveless, violent domestic life he experiences. Nonetheless, his father's death has a major impact on him. In the second segment, he is a closeted homosexual working in a grim office and still living at home with his daunting mother. In the final segment, he deals with his mother's death and then faces his own impending doom. As his death approaches he flashes back to his life's events.

Cast and crew
  • Credits

    • Production Compagny : The British Film Institute (BFI)
    • Distributor : Doriane Films
    • Editing : Mick Audsley, William Diver, Sarah Ellis, Digby Rumsey
    • Producer : Maureen McCue
    • Photo Director : William Diver
    • Director : Terence Davies
    • Scenario : Terence Davies
  • Technical details

    • Printed format : 35 mm
    • Sound mix : Stéréo 2.0
    • Year of production : 1983
    • French release date : 15 août 1984
    • Category : Feature film
    • Color : Black and White
    • Language : English

Other films